I used to be a rock. I was a divorced Mom of 3 kids, had a townhouse, a van, a full time job. I felt very independent and self sufficient. I even did my own home repairs, had my own collection of tools. My income, however, just barely paid the mortgage and other bills. I was proud of making it on my own.

Then I received a shock to my system. I got a passed due bill in the mail from the County. I owed over a thousand dollars in property tax. Somehow it had gotten overlooked in my planning. I was used to it being paid as part of the mortgage payment. When I had refinanced my townhouse to get the ex-husband’s name off of it I wasn’t allowed to include the property tax. Then I forgot completely about it. Now I was stuck with a bill too large to pay. I didn’t know what to do. I also lost my job and got a new one that didn’t pay as well as the old one. Now I had trouble making ends meet. I was frantic.

I prayed about my financial woes constantly. I wished I had a husband to help me. Finally I decided to go to the elders of my church. What a blessing they were. I told them everything financial, showed my bank account, my paychecks etc. I told them I had no idea what to do and I would be greatly appreciative if they would figure it out for me and I would abide by their decision. After much discussion and thought over weeks the verdict was in. Sell the townhouse and pay off everything I owed. They helped me get my townhouse ready to sell. They even made a couple payments for me to keep me afloat. Then I sold it and payed off the bills.

I don’t know what I would have done without the elder’s input and help! Since then, I have had to accept more help because I got very sick and have become handicapped. I am on disability and my 2 kids still at home are very helpful. Total strangers hold doors open for me. When I say “thank you” people smile. That makes me feel good. It is a small thing, but I can make people smile!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/04/daily-prompt-self/

